Where next?

Options
stiff9
stiff9 Registered Posts: 5 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi guys

This is my 1st post :-)

Hopefully someone could give me their thoughts/ advice on the following:

I passed AAT 2 years ago but was unsure what to do next, ACCA or ATT.

My passion is Tax, however I am working for a Charity where I have no exposure to Tax. A year after AAT I decided to start ACCA and began with sitting the Tax paper in December 2012. I passed the paper but now think (at 31) I would be better off going for the ATT and starting my own practice as an MAAT MIP.

I have 2 years experience in practice and 2 years in the charity.

Has anyone been in a similar position and if so what did you decide?

Many thanks

Comments

• paulstafford
    paulstafford Registered Posts: 126 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    If tax is your passion, why not look for a tax focused job in an accountancy practice and study ATT part time....maybe even CTA after? Once you have the qualifications and more relevant experience you will be in a better position to strike out on your own.
  • villapb
    villapb Registered Posts: 357
    Options
    ACCA will keeps your options open but the guys I work with are finding the P exams hard going.

The att tax route which I choose will narrow your options but my goal is flexible mip.....

Its a hard and depends how much study you want to do acca and then cta would be great but you wont have a life for a long while.

I find att studying easier because I like tax but I would struggle on say audit because id get bored.
  • villapb
    villapb Registered Posts: 357
    Options
    ps if you want to be a member of att you need 2 years tax experience...........
  • stiff9
    stiff9 Registered Posts: 5 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Great comments guys, thank you.

I agree that studying ATT would be much more enjoyable as I have genuine interest in tax, whereas the thought of studying F7 & F8 fills me with dread!