Lease Accounting Entries on Sage

Options
JJH1969
JJH1969 Registered Posts: 110 Epic contributor 🐘
I have a client who has purchased a large peice of equipment from the EU for say £75k. They paid £25k and then invoiced a leasing company for £50k plus VAT for the rest of the money and are paying monthly amounts against this financing. What would be the accounting entried in SAGE for this transaction?

Comments

• CeeJaySix
    CeeJaySix Registered Posts: 645
    Options
    I'm not an expert on Sage so the specific details for the program might be slightly off; I've assumed that the lease company paid the supplier direct (ie. the finance monies didn't come through the client's bank) and that it's a finance lease as it's the full cost of the asset.

As an aside, to me it seems odd that they've taken finance for the balance plus VAT, as the VAT is notional (its paid and reclaimed on the same return) (assuming your client and the supplier are VAT registered)? You don't mention VAT on the £25k? I've assumed both companies are VAT registered and there was no VAT included in the leased amount...

Anyway, the way I'd do it...

Purchase invoice for full amount with a T8 tax code (again assuming both companies VAT registered & VATable goods) on the supplier a/c with the dr to P&M at cost.
    Bill payment for the £25k supplier a/c against bank.
    Not sure if you can use a bill payment or have to journal this bit - dr supplier a/c, cr a finance lease code (might have to create one, I think around the 2300 region) for the £50k. If you're creating one make sure you check the chart of accounts. Obviously if the monies came through the client's bank you can add the extra debit/credit in here.