Need a job in a practice in Birmingham

Options
jasec
jasec Registered Posts: 17 Dedicated contributor 🦉
Hi All,

I have been MAAT for over a year and really want a job in a practice in Birmingham.

I have experience in sales leger and credit control but really want to work in a practice.

I self funded AAT and at the moment am self funding ACCA.

Unfortunately I cannot get a look in with any practice.

I am 44 and was in the army from 16 - 24 then I was an HGV mechanic for 15 years so I appreciate I do not have vast amounts of experience.

The experience I do have however is good and I want to keep progressing in accountancy.

What I am asking is does anybody have any advise to help me get into a practice or even better a job for me to interview for lol.

Any help or hints would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• Minesh
    Minesh Registered Posts: 4 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    Hi All

I have completed my Level 1,2 and 3 AAT qualification last year in July and also completed City and Guilds Level 1 in Book-Keeping and Accounts and Level 1 and 2 Sage Computerised Accounts.

I have experience in retail, retail banking, administration and finance.

I self funded myself to do the AAT qualification as I wanted to pursue a career into finance as Sales/Purchase Ledger or as Account Assistant as I am currently working in retail want to a change of a career.

I similar to Jasec is finding it extremely difficult in applying for jobs as I don't have any practical experience in accounting and bookkeeping.

I live in Birmingham, I am 35 and I am willing to do some voluntary work experience with a business or accountancy company so I gain some valuable experience.

As I have little experience I am struggling to apply for jobs.

What I am asking does anybody have any advise for me in terms of what do you so I can some actual work experience which will secure for a future in accountancy and finance.

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.