Do voluntary work experience in a practice in Birmingham to gain experience

Minesh
Minesh Registered Posts: 4 New contributor 🐸
Hi All

I have completed my Level 1, 2 and 3 AAT qualifications last year in July and also completed City and Guilds Level 1 in Book-Keeping and Accounts and Level 1 and 2 Sage Computerised Accounts.

I have experience in retail, retail banking, administration and finance.

I self-funded myself to do the AAT qualification as I wanted to pursue a career into finance as Sales/Purchase Ledger or as Account Assistant as I am currently working in retail want to a change of a career.

I am finding it extremely difficult in applying for jobs as I don't have any practical experience in accounting and bookkeeping.

I live in Birmingham, I am 35 and I am willing to do some free voluntary work experience with a business or accountancy company so I gain some valuable experience.

As I have little experience I am struggling to apply for accountancy jobs.

What I am asking does anybody have any advice for me in terms of what do you so I can some actual work experience which will secure for a future in accountancy and finance.

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I would advise you to contact some local recruitment agencies and ask for assistance with your covering letter and CV. Your post is not reading all that well and if I were to receive this as a covering letter I would not consider your application.

Have a look at www.do-it.org.uk for volunteer positions (treasurer, finance officer etc.) as this would add credibility to your CV.

Good luck.
  • Minesh
    Minesh Registered Posts: 4 New contributor 🐸
    Thanks for your advice. I can confirm that my CV and covering letter reads really well and is appropriate to the types of jobs that I am applying for.
  • Ryan Mundy MAAT
    Ryan Mundy MAAT Registered Posts: 22 New contributor 🐸