New MIP questions..

Options
IJK72
IJK72 Registered Posts: 2 New contributor 🐸
I have recently set up as a MIP after setting up my own company. It has been some time since I have done basics on company set up and day to day bookkeeping. I have been a Management Accountant in large organisations for many years now so needing a bit of a refresh..

My Accountant has done all my registration with HMRC and have also registered me for PAYE. I am assuming this PAYE set up is purely for me to get paid a directors salary and get NI credit?
I know there are PAYE submissions for PAYE so I'm hoping all will become clear when I get the information through.

I am not registered VAT, am a Ltd company and have very few transactions as I am just in the early stages of setting up. Can I compile my monthly records on a cash basis rather than accruals?

Any pointers on initial things on set up would be much appreciated. I find the HMRC website a minefield!

Thanks in advance!

Comments

Guest Registered Posts: 73 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    set up as a MIP? hmmm, if you can’t get your head around your own company and tax affairs I pity the clients.
    Pointer no. 1 - get good PI insurance
  • charlenebb
    charlenebb Registered Posts: 40 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    I would have to agree. with Guest. I am sup prised you are using an Accountant to set up your business. This is something you should already know how to do especially setting yourself up with HMRC for PAYE. What if you end up taking on new clients that have staff you should be able to set them up yourself. Maybe you should get to grips with the basics of setting up a company as I would want to register myself as an agent with HMRC etc and get everything in place.
  • anniem
    anniem Registered Posts: 1,326 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Agree with Guest!!!
    FMAAT - AAT Licensed Member in Practice - Pewsey, Wiltshire
  • anniem