MIP mentor required (east Yorkshire) for musical accountant!

Options
Salbo
Salbo Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
Hello! My name is sally, I qualified as MAAT in 2006, and then went on to become an ACCA passed finalist in 2011. My experience (12years) has been in mainly government funded organisations, charities and the arts and catering sector but in recent years I have progressed to management accountant roles in the NHS and now a senior finance business partner type role in the commercial private sector. This route I have decided is not for me and I want to explore the idea of setting up my own practise.

I am also a musician looking to go professional although I know this won't be my full bread and butter, and wish to find a way I can work more flexibly with my music whilst also supporting local small businesses with my accounting skills. I have had no practise experience though, I did do the tax exams as an option through both AAT and ACCA because they interested me..(OK I'm a massive geek!!)

I need to just finish my portfolio to get ACCA but I have lost heart in doing this for a number of reasons...On a personal reflection i realise that perhaps If I had had more confidence and foresight when I qualified at AAT level I may not have gone on to do ACCA in the first place!!! No regrets though :) Anyway, after enquiring directly with AAT I have been advised to post a message on here, I am looking for a mentor to discuss the possibility of starting the path to being an MIP.