Returning to Level 4 after a year long break

Options
AATchick
AATchick Registered Posts: 89 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi All, I was wondering if I could have some advice please.

I studied AAT Level 2 and 3 through college, and fell pregnant halfway through Level 3 last year. I had my baby in November last year and my boss (who is funding my studies) suggested a year's break then to go back to complete Level 4. I am now looking into studying Level 4 at home as although I passed both previous levels I always found myself learning more myself at home and re-reading (teaching) myself the book chapters!

So therefore, I was wondering if anyone had any experience or tips as how best to go about this. I've heard of online classrooms but I was wondering whether there is a time limit on these. As my baby is not sleeping through the night yet, I'm going to have to snatch studying time here and there, but I want to learn at my own pace so did not know if the online classroom would be best in this case. It may take me a matter of weeks or months to learn 1 unit so need a flexible plan really.

I suppose I could just buy the textbooks, but then I would have to book the exams as an external candidate and wasn't sure how to go about this.

Also, looking around the forum I have read cash management and credit control are the easiest of the optional units - was thinking of starting these first to ease me in gently. Anyone else done this?

Arghh questions questions! Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thank you for reading :-)

Comments

• Haysah
    Haysah Registered Posts: 80 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    Hi I took a year out between level 3 and four to have a baby but I study through a local college. so can't offer advice on distance learning.

I managed to split my level 4 year over two years doing four units last year. I am now working on my final two units. This helped me manage a baby, family, working and studying. its not easy but it is possible.