Discrepancies in Experience - Required vs. Accumulated

To anyone who might be able to provide advice or encouragement-

My name is Mike. I'm 31 years old and I have about 11 years experience in the automotive industry and 3 of which are in quality. I'm on permanent contract for one of the big 3 automakers and I would like to move into a direct position with a higher level of responsibility. Currently, I'm about a mid-level employee with no direct reports but have a finely-honed set of technical skills. My business acumen is not quite as sharp, as I do have formal education in business but I have not been in a position to use much of what I know regarding formal business practices, so my nuanced skills are lacking (according to qualifications needed for certain mid-level mgmt jobs). I will be finishing my business degree (minor in Operations Mgmt) in Decemeber 2015, so I have quite a large gap between experience and educational level and this tends to feel like the culprit behind being stuck in a mid-range employment level, while accumulating a nice amount of time under my belt.

My concern is, as I'm trying to re-position myself, I'm finding it difficult to "wedge" my way into the company since they will not consider me for entry-level or internship work, and I am missing approximately 50% of the qualifications in most job listings that would consider someone with 11 years auto experience and 3 in quality. My previous manager was ready to bring me in once I finished my bachelor's but he has since moved on and I lost one of my best "in's". So at least someone has seen my potential and it's a nice confidence boost, but none of this is really spelled out to the recruiters who are doing the quick checks. I suppose I will be more worried in January when I have completed the degree and still have no bites. Even if this is the single item holding me back, I still see the difficulty in finding a job description in my field where I meet even 75% of the basic qualifications.