Thinking of putting CIMA on hold and going for AAT - will it help me find a job?

Options
Calculatrix
Calculatrix Registered Posts: 3
Hello

I am 39 and currently working in IT. I have been with the same company for 11 years - my career there has not just come to the end of the road, but overshot it and landed in the bushes. I have been studying CIMA since last year (self-study) and am about to sit my final Operational Level exam. I have some accounting experience, but that was gained during my vocational training/first jobs, so nothing that stands out on my CV.

I have been looking for entry level accounting jobs for six months now, but with zero results. There are many things about my CV that are potentially off-putting to recruiters (assumptions they may make about my age, current salary level or type of work I am willing to do), but it's my lack of recent, practical experience that is the biggest obstacle.

My observation is that depending on job level/industry, recruiters either look for recent finance/accounting graduates, or for people with a minimum of 2-3 years of solid experience under their belt, even for what appears to be the most menial of tasks. Job ads routinely ask for "ACCA, CIMA, or AAT students" but when I look at the profiles of people who have worked their way up the ladder from a junior position, they all pursued the AAT route. CIMA seems to be of more value for those with an academic background.