Confused about a particular content on my resume. Should I keep/remove it?

madhu_pro2015
madhu_pro2015 Registered Posts: 2
Hey guys!

So I am studying at a US university, almost towards graduation, and searching for full-time positions. I'm confused about a particular thing on my resume, and I'm in kind of a dilemma about whether I should keep/remove it. I want to give my recruiters a good impression.
So here goes:

I studied at a previous university for a year, and scored some low grades due to which I was forced to transfer to my current university. I'm doing very well in my current university, and have a good resume.
The thing is, though, I held a really good position at my previous university at this prestigious organization, that projects good leadership, time management and organizing skills. I feel that the content I have mentioned about it on my resume, will go a long way in securing me a job of my dreams.

What I'm worried about though is that if I mention that position, I would also have to put in 'XYZ University' (my previous univ) on the EDUCATION section, and with that comes my GPA. This I feel could give a recruiter a bad impression (though I can be truthful saying that I did a bad job, and justify by saying I've made up for it).

What do I do? Do I retain my experience in that prestigious club? Or should I remove it? Thank you so much in advance!

Comments

• clees
    clees Registered Posts: 33
    tricky one.

I would say that if you really want to include this 'club' on your CV and believe you have gained skills from it a employer would like, then do so, and put down the other university but dont mension why you left and if a future employer wants to know they will ask.

you never know they might not ask and you would have shot your self in the foot by mentioning why you left.