Thinking of commencing study at 53 years of age

jps
jps Registered Posts: 5 New contributor 🐸
Hi everyone, Me Old, looking to start AAT - Skills check says Level 2 start or "Go To The Dark Side - ATT". Current situation - unemployed left last job late last year - after a diffcult time andd long tenure (8 years) - registered with loads of agencies. Very little being presented to me. I would welcome the the thoughts from "mature late starters on here" and from those with plenty of experience whatever age. How difficult is AAT Level 2? How quickly can you progress from a learning point of view? Distance or Class Based Learning? And those who undertook ATT after - what was that like? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• MarieNoelle
    MarieNoelle Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,368
    Hi @jps

I started studying AAT at college in my early 40's and a few students were in their 40's, 50's and 60's. So it is definitely a qualification open to more mature students.
    Most of them were either already working in accounts or helping their partners with bookkeeping in their business.
    May I ask what is your previous experience and what you expect to achieve in terms of career? AAT will give you a sound grounding in bookkeeping and accounts, ATT is more geared towards tax compliance.

Hope this helps.
  • jps
    jps Registered Posts: 5 New contributor 🐸
    Hi @MarieNoelle,

Thanks for the response. it's always good to get a response, even though I know the "age based learning" type of thread has been asked and covered numerous times on here over the years.

As you ask, my experience was until the end of last year - just processing payments and receipts and generic admin - and some sales ledger generation mainly on Sage 200 - customer contact, and just doing my job. (I have used Oracle but don't like it all - too convoluted in my opinion).