Payroll qualifications

Options
Being a payroll administrator, I heard you don't need much qualifications, just basic IT and office skills.
I haven't done CIPP or AAT anything similar, but I have paid over £500 for a Sage 50 Payroll course, Level 1 and 2.
Is this enough, I only want to be a payroll administrator, and work in companies that use just Sage.

I haven't had many job replies, I have had one offer which they didn't want to get back to me. And some of them unsuccessful.
I have only done Sage 50 payroll level 1 & 2. I haven't had any work experience in this field.

Comments

• kelsmick
    kelsmick Registered Posts: 89
    Options
    It depends on what the company requires you to do. I have done payroll admin where all you are required to do is to input the hours into a spreadsheet and then the rest is done by someone else, generally if you are doing the admin side you are only checking time sheets etc rather than running the payroll and doing payments.

What is the reason behind only wanting to use sage? I think you are being a little picky with only wanting to work with companies that use sage, especially if you've no experience. I've worked with several companies doing payroll and not many of them use sage 50 and the ones that do want people with a few years worth of experience. It might be worth not limiting yourself to only wanting to use sage.

When you are applying for jobs are you only applying for the ones that state they use sage? Or have you mentioned in your CV / Covering letter that you only want to work with sage? As this could be the reason for your lack of replies.

It would also depends on the job market of where you live. Currently in my city the job market is not good, there are often more than 200 + people applying for the same job and unfortunately experience wins over qualifications so this could be another reason as to why you've not been getting much replies.
    www.essencebookkeeping.co.uk
  • amrina1994