Large Directors Loan Account Debit Balance

Katie2014
Katie2014 Registered Posts: 29 Regular contributor ⭐
Dear All

This is my first time dealing with a large debit balance on a directors loan account and I just wanted to make sure that I haven't missed anything..

My client is a sole director/shareholder limited company who didn't find out that they were caught under IR35 until just after their accounting year end. I had been chasing them to have an IR35 contract review all year as I strongly suspected IR35. I have dealt with all of the PAYE/NI obligations under IR35, however they also owe the company just over £20,000 to the directors loan account.

Basically, they had been withdrawing cash and spending money through the company bank account all year. They now owe over 20k to HMRC for the PAYE/NI liabilities that should have been paid throughout the year if they had found out about IR35 earlier.

My client has now been made redundant from the end client and wishes to close the ltd co. I have been advised by HMRC that they will object to the company being closed with a large PAYE bill outstanding so for now the company is dormant.

In regards to the directors loan outstanding to the company, I just want to check that the following points will cover everything that needs to take place as the loan will not be repaid:

- Show the loan amount owing on CT600A when I file the CT600
- 32.5% of the loan outstanding will be due as corporation tax to HMRC 9 months and 1 day after the accounting y/e
- Interest was not charged to the director, so interest at HMRC's official rate (currently 3%) on the loan amount outstanding should have been entered onto a p11d for the 2016/17 tax year as a BIK. This will now have to be filed late.
- The ltd co will owe Class 1A at 13.8% on the BIK amount
- The director will have a tax liabliity on the BIK amount at 40% as he is a higher rate taxpayer