Struggling with Accounts Prep jobs

Options
Hello all,

I'm currently studying AAT level 4 alongside my job at a small family-run firm in a village in Nottinghamshire.

For the most part, I enjoy my job. Our clients are mostly German speaking which is great for me as a graduate of German and Politics. I really enjoy working in VAT and have enjoyed working in personal tax before as well. I like the personal intimate atmosphere that comes with working in a small firm.

However, there's one aspect of my job that I don't enjoy at all - accounts preparation. It's hard to explain why, but I just don't enjoy it in the slightest. I sometimes feel expected to understand it all after one explanation, and when I struggle to do so, my colleague always attributes this to me overcomplicating it in my mind. There's some truth in that no doubt, but as I'm sure you can appreciate, the surrounding concepts and ideas aren't easy, and it annoys me when they are described as such.

I do try when I do these jobs, but my heart just isn't really in it, and it's hard to manufacture enthusiasm for something that I find immensely frustrating and occasionally demoralising.

Anyone been in a similar situation? As I said, I love my job apart from one aspect of it.

Comments

• Clintm15
    Clintm15 Registered Posts: 248 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    You don't enjoy accounts preparation? Maybe you're in the wrong field.
    AAT
    Level 2 - 2011
    Level 3 - 2012
    Level 4 - 2013

ACCA
    F4 - Corporate Law - Dec 2015 (passed)
    F5 - Performance Management - Dec 2014 (passed)
    F6 - Taxation - Dec 2013 (passed)
    F7 - Financial Reporting - Jun 2014 (passed)
    F8 - Audit & Assurance - Dec 2015 (passed)
    F9 - Financial Management - Jun 2015 (passed)
  • BlueJeans
    BlueJeans Registered Posts: 56
    Options
    > @Clintm15 said:
    > You don't enjoy accounts preparation? Maybe you're in the wrong field.