Where can AAT take me?

Options
Hello, I achieved the overall grade distinction in August when i finally got my last result which i was very pleased with. However I am unsure what I can realistically strive for with my AAT Level 4 qualification without going on to do ACCA, to be honest I basically haven't stopped learning and doing exams since i left school like 4 years ago and am hesitant to commit to further studies right now in my career, but am motivated to find a new job role such as an assistant accountant/bookkeeper, where i would be able to actually use my AAT and get some experience under my belt. While doing AAT I have only really got 2 years purchase ledger experience which hinders me in looking for a new job role, also my excel skills aren't great (although did the spreadsheet AAT exam @ level 3) and I have only really used a bespoke finance software related to my company and not Sage or any other renowned packages.I ideally want to move more away from purchase ledger, but with me not having ACCA and only Purchase ledger experience I am unsure what to do next. I know it would depend on what duties i would like to do, at the moment I am opened minded, I wouldn't mind trying bookkeeping/sales ledger/credit control/aspects of tax/Fixed asset register usage & depreciation workings/Trial balance/ working with VAT/ Dealing with accruals and prepayments/ control accounts/profit or loss & Balance sheet workings & many other things that AAT has taught me.
But I do want to use my qualification and basically want to know what i can realistically strive for and what sort of salary to expect to the jobs available. If anyone has any ideas/advice etc to give to me that would be fantastic. I am not ruling out ACCA completely, but am just put off for this point in time (I have just turned 21 by the way).

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• ChrisJ30
    ChrisJ30 Registered Posts: 93 New contributor 🐸
    Options