AAT + ACCA

Options
Adam144
Adam144 Registered Posts: 28
Hello everyone

If I am AAT qualified and just starting ACCA, can I apply for the AAT licence and trade as self-employed? Or is it then restricted because I've chosen to continue on studying ACCA? I have got 4 years relevant experience in practice, so I am not sure if you can trade under AAT licence, while studying ACCA? Does anybody know?

Comments

• reader
    reader Registered Posts: 1,037 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Even if you are a member of the AAT, have a licence with the AAT on top, and have professional indemnity insurance on top of that, you cannot be a ACCA student member on the side. However I think you are allowed to do very basic things like bookkeeping, payroll, and prepare (but not submit?) VAT returns even if you are an ACCA student member.
  • reader
    Options
  • Adam144
    Adam144 Registered Posts: 28
    Options
    reader said:

Even if you are a member of the AAT, have a licence with the AAT on top, and have professional indemnity insurance on top of that, you cannot be a ACCA student member on the side. However I think you are allowed to do very basic things like bookkeeping, payroll, and prepare (but not submit?) VAT returns even if you are an ACCA student member.

This is what I was scared of and I dont quite understand it.. Full AAT licence gives you opportunity to practice as self-employed in most of the sectors including accounts production, so I dont understand why cant you continue on studying with ACCA and trade under the AAT licence, if you are still paying for the membership? Isn't it illogical that lower qualification gives you more options that higher?
  • reader
    Options