HELP! Previous accountant nightmare!!!

Hi Everyone,

Im a new FMAAT licensed accountant (long story but I have worked in accy practices since 2001 and decided to 'go it alone' in December).

I have taken on a new Ltd Co client, whose prev accountant they could never get hold of - and neither can i!

Upon inspection of the accounts (which we finally got from him after the clients went to his offices and demanded them) I have found the following:

Directors salaries of £8164 each (2 directors) posted in P&L - even though no PAYE scheme was ever set up!
No opening Trade Debtors - even though (from their records) there were £8700

Please could someone advise me on what I should do next.

The payroll issue - do I need to do something about this or leave as is as the prev acct signed the accounts?

The Trade Debtors issue - do i need to re-do previous years accounts and submit amended versions plus CT600, or PYA, or can this be resolved by adjusting in sales in current year accounts?

I really appreciate any advice - i'ts quite daunting going it alone and suddenly having nobody to ask when things like this arise.

Thanks,

Comments

• reader
    reader Registered Posts: 1,037 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Firstly, congratulations on going it alone. I wish I had the guts. How is it going?

Should HMRC investigate they would expect the following:

1) Ament last years accts for the trade debtor. This sale should be taxed at 20% not 19%.

2) Register the PAYE scheme for last tax year and submit the £8,164 salary.

At least then going forwards you know that you haven't made any mistakes and have done your best. It's probably best not to be professionally negligent and make additional mistakes.

There may be some PAYE penalties for the PAYE scheme registration and late FPS'.
  • MarieNoelle
    MarieNoelle Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,368