Should I start with Accounting or Bookkeeping?

Options
Hi all,

A little background so you can see the situation I am coming from:
I am 31 years old and have been mostly bed bound since I was 6 (hence I have no experience in working and do not have a university degree or GCSEs). I do, however, have hope of recovering to a degree where I can work (and it is this period of my life I will be focusing on with this question).

I love maths and have decided that accounting is the career for me. My question is, should I should start with an AAT Bookkeeping qualification, or jump straight into an AAT Accounting qualification?

I know that I will face challenges getting into either career due to my situation, but I am very happy to give it my all, and start at the bottom of the ladder. I understand that these challenges will apply both to bookkeeping jobs and accounting jobs, but I am wondering if it would be best for me to start with gaining a Bookkeeping qualification, getting my foot in the door with that career, and then moving to accounting, or jump straight into accounting?

Thank you for any advice you have.

Comments

• davealucas
    davealucas Registered Posts: 140 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    Hi there,

The AAT Accounting Qualification starts at level 2 which are, for most intents and purposes, bookkeeping skills. If you start there you cannot go far wrong.
  • mighty18
    mighty18 Registered Posts: 16
    Options
    Bookkeeping is the fundamentals of accounting; it is about gathering information and recording it. Then it follows with financial accounting, management accounting and income taxes...I have a level 2 in manual bookkeeping and also, a level 2 in computerized accounts. after my access course (level 1) this is where I progressed.
  • BradJones_FTA
    BradJones_FTA Registered Posts: 23
    Options
    Hi there,