Completed Foundation Certificate, need advice on next steps with no work experience!

Hi guys,

I'm really lost and after some advice please. I completed my Level 2 foundation certificate in Accounting last summer with a distinction however I haven't worked in Accounting yet so have no real world experience. I live in rural Wales with not many opportunities locally, although I have been applying for jobs in Newport and Cardiff but am just not getting anyway. I get very few interviews and haven't succeeded in those I've had, mostly due to my lack of experience. It's a real catch 22.

I've contacted local accountants looking for even just 1 day a month work experience but they're all too busy. I work full time in retail but have one week day off a week where I'd really like to get some work experience to pad out my CV but I just don't know how to get any.

My dream is to set up my own business eventually and I have lots of friends/family who are self employed and want my help with accounts/bookkeeping but I'm just not in a position yet.

What do you guys with more experience than me see as the most important next steps?! I'm so confused and don't want this qualification going to waste.

I looked at getting an AAT bookkeeping licence but I need a professional reference which I can't get currently.

Thanks in advance all :)

Comments

• colls10
    colls10 Registered Posts: 22