Quantitative Easing

Options
Biscuit
Biscuit Registered Posts: 11 New contributor 🐸
Hi,

I'm studying using the Osborne Books and want to clarify my understanding of how Quantitative Easing works.

The book states: "The aim of Quantitative Easing is to increase the amount of money circulating and being spent in the economy directly, through purchases by the Bank of high quality assets, mainly gilts (Government Stock) from private sector institutions, financed by the creation of central bank reserves. For example, when the Bank purchases £100 million of gilts from an insurance company, it credits the company's bank account with £100 million."

My understanding is that if a gilt is government stock then the Bank of England buying a gilt means they are lending the government money. But the book states that the Bank (Bank of England) purchases £100 million of gilts from an insurance company and credits the company's bank account with £100 million; so in this example, the insurance company is receiving the money, not the government. I don't understand the link between the insurance company and the government:
  1. 1/ Are gilts purchased via private sector institutions such as insurance companies? I thought that it was the Government departments who wanted the funding issued the gilts eg 'Treasury 4% 2016.'
  2. 2/ Is the insurance company acting as an intermediary between the Bank of England and the Government?
  3. 3/ If the insurance company is receiving the money, how is this providing lending to the Government?
I'm confused about how this links together; can anybody clarify please?

Comments

• PeterC
    PeterC Registered, Tutor Posts: 245 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    The insurance company buys the gilts from the government, via market makers

In the insurance company's accounts:
    Dr Gilts a/c £100m
    Cr Bank (Bank of England) a/c £100m

Then the Bank of England buys the gilts from the insurance company

In the insurance company's accounts: