I’m an introvert and love working alone - what type of accountant should I be?

honeybee9
honeybee9 Registered Posts: 7 New contributor 🐸
edited October 2021 in AAT member discussion
Hi everyone, I’m currently finishing off my level 4 studies, planning to move onto either ACCA or CIMA. I currently work as a management accountant in a large company. I do enjoy my current role but often wonder if there’s something out there within the accountancy field where I could deal with people less that I haven’t thought of yet.

As much as I wish I wasn’t like this, if I had to give an honest answer, the only thing I really dislike about any job I haven’t liked is dealing with people especially difficult managers.

I feel being a self employed accountant might mean I’d have to deal with just lots of difficult managers in different companies. Is there anything where you don’t really work in a finance team but instead work alone most of the time?

Comments

• Pian32
    Pian32 Registered Posts: 474 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    No matter where you work you will likely have to work with someone even if only occasionally. I work at a small firm and each set of accounts I'll mostly be working solo but still need to get confirmation from owners/directors as part of the process.

Some will have no queries, others question every line and some will produce more information after you thought you'd done everything.

I'd say you'd probably have less in a small accountancy firm managing sole traders and partnerships.
    AAT Level 4, MAAT
    ACCA in progress
    F4- Passed Aug 2020
    F5- Passed Dec 2020
    F6- Passed Sep 2020
    F7- Passed June 2021
    F8 - Passed Sep 2021
    F9 - Passed June 2021

SBL -
    SBR - Passed Mar 22
    ATX - Passed Dec 21
    APM - Passed June 22
  • Neillaw
    Neillaw Registered Posts: 307 Dedicated contributor 🦉