AML - Want to hear your thoughts on this!

Options
Rajan96
Rajan96 Registered Posts: 9 New contributor 🐸
Hi all,

I am an MAAT and Licensed Bookkeeper and just have a query. As a Bookkeeper or Accountant, we will have new clients who approach us to do their Bookkeeping. If when we have a discussion with them, they disclose or mention that they do not show all their income or give any hints about their money laundering activities, of course, one thing is for me it is very clear that I would not want to engage in any activity with them let alone provide them with Accountancy or Bookkeeping services.

I just wondered what would be your reaction to this as an Accountant/Bookkeeper and what actions if any you would take if you come across similar situations. Some of you might have even started work for them and then realise, so what did you do in that scenario?

Your thoughts on this would be much appreciated.

Looking forward to hear some great responses :)

Comments

• sk2022
    sk2022 Registered Posts: 24 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    Hi,

I have never experienced this, but in my opinion if on the inital discussion they give you hints that they do not disclose everything, I would not engage with them as you would not want any issues later on down the line.