HELP. I am new to finance and feel regret and over burn.

Theaatnooby
Theaatnooby Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
Help. I have loved studying AAT and I fully plan on going on to do CIMA after.

1 year ago I got my first job in the world of finance as an accounts assistant.

Even at this level it seems like everyone is burning the candles at both ends. I’m having worries that this is going to be it now for the rest of my career as surely it can’t get any easier as you move up the ladder. My peers seem to be flat out non stop, working a lot of additional hours completely unpaid or with no flexi time.

So is this it? Could it just be the company? Are there better jobs in finance for work life balance?

Anyone with years of experience please advise as I am starting to panic a little. And just to add I was in no way expecting an easy ride but I didn’t foresee working myself into the ground and a lot of stress.

Thank you for any help or tips given

Comments

• sjtoomer
    sjtoomer Registered Posts: 63 Regular contributor ⭐
    edited January 2023
    From an un-experienced ex- Book-Keeping Student:

Well, other people may think differently, but it seems that Accounting/Finance is a lot of effort and is not straight-forward, and a lot of the positions are under-paid, in my opinion. Personally speaking, I don't think that employers are properly valuing the AAT Qualifications, especially given how difficult they are to obtain/pass.