Next steps

Options
Tanya0997
Tanya0997 Registered Posts: 8 New contributor 🐸
I completed CIMA and beame a member through an apprenticeship but I feel like I'm in limbo at the moment. I'm hoping to gain some advice and your thoughts. I apologise for the long read.

I came to England in 2016 after finishing high school, excited to start uni. But I wasn't eligible for student finance so I decided to defer my start dates for a couple of years. During that time, I worked in retail as a sales assistant and started going to college. I did AAT L4 during 2016-17, and I went for a foundation degree in Business management during 2017-19.

My direction changed a bit when I completed AAT, I thought I would have a foot in the door in some companies to gain some practical experience rather than going to uni - so I started applying for jobs, offered to volunteer, went through recruiter, but none of my efforts paid off.

I was still working in retail at that time, and in 2018, I was promoted to work in the back office where I would handle the cash, and prepare the floats. I added that experience to my CV. Nothing changed for a while until a recruiter reached out to me about an apprenticeship opportunity and I jumped at it! I had my interview not long after, and was able to secure the job.

After I completed my foundation degree course, I enrolled onto CIMA. I wasn't aware at the time that having done AAT, I was eligible for exemptions so instead of starting at Certificate level as previously indicated by the vacancy, I started woth Operational. I worked really hard, got the experience I needed over the years.