Can I file tax returns?

bonnie
bonnie Registered Posts: 30 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi,
I work as a book-keeper and I've just signed up for the certificate AAT course. I wondered on completion of the Technicians level, if I would be qualified to file tax returns for small businesses or sole traders as this is what I would eventually like to do. Or what follow-up course would I need to do?

Thanks.

Comments

• NeilH
    NeilH Registered Posts: 553 Epic contributor 🐘
    Hi

Tax isn't a regulated area so in theory any Tom, Dick or Harry can carry out tax work regardless of qualification or not. As to the AAT providing you with sufficient knowledge, it will depend on the options you take and the level of tax work you will undertake. If you become an AAT full member you will need to apply to the Members in Practice scheme for a License and for tax work to be inlcuded in the license you will need to have some relevant experience.

The ultimate responsibility for tax returns lies with the individual or business concerned, however you can register with HMRC to become an agent so as to submit returns and make enquries on behalf of the individual/business.

Neil
  • sloshed
    sloshed Registered Posts: 100 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Hi Bonnie

Whilst I agree with everything NeilH has said. I would strongly suggest you consider doing the ATT (Association of Taxation Technicans) as this would give you far more in depth knowledge of tax. This would also allow you to give added value to your clients. :thumbup1:

Brian
  • bonnie
    Thanks both of you. Sloshed - is this a course (ATT) to be taken when I complete the technicians level? I'm only just about to begin the certificate.
    Thanks
  • shaxxa
    shaxxa Registered Posts: 82 Regular contributor ⭐
    Bonnie