Rate of Pay

TALLY
TALLY Registered Posts: 22 New contributor 🐸
Hi everyone,

The dreaded question that everyone asks, am I being paid the right amount for the job. I work for someone who has two businesses for which I do the bookkeeping. One of the directors does the month/year ends. Some of the work is pretty basic i.e. entering data onto the computer etc, but I do all of the reconciliation work bank/sales plus the VAT returns and payment runs. I work in the office alone so I basically run the office; for this I am paid 7.50 per hour; just wondered if this is a fair rate. I work in retail by the way.

I have been approached by one of the directors who has another business to do some reconciliation work for her. What rate of pay would be reasonable to ask for or expect to be offered? This business is a successful company dealing in computer services.

Comments

• Jan
    Jan Registered Posts: 654 Epic contributor 🐘
    Mmmm, always a tricky one this.

I was in a similar position a few years ago, except I was paid £6 per hour and felt the company couldn't afford to pay me any more. It was only when I handed in my notice that they offered me any more money. (It would have saved them getting someone else who didn't sell themselves short as I had done!) I learnt from that experience and when I got my present post negotiated what I thought was a fair wage before I started. (More than £7.50 ph) Like you at the time I worked alone - I still am the accounts/payroll dept!!