Annoying Clients

Melody
Melody Registered Posts: 5 New contributor 🐸
Hi

I was wondering if any of you other MIP's can help me. I am new to this MIP stuff and have come across an annoying client who is expecting me to do far more than I should do, in terms of work. They are basically expecting me to make management decisions. I am starting to think that I would be better off without them. My question is how do I get rid of them? Has anyone else had to 'sack' a client before and if so how?

Many thanks

Comments

• deanshepherd
    deanshepherd Registered Posts: 1,809 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I have had to get rid of a few clients that were just not worth the effort. Mainly because I felt they were not being totally honest with me or I felt they were a high risk of not declaring all their income.

- Increasing the fees is often a good way to get rid of these, or at least make them less of a burden;

- Others I have written to saying that I no longer have the capacity to do the work and would not want to stretch myself and risk providing a poor service;

- Others I have said I no longer practice in their particular area of tax (perhaps property taxes);

- Others I have said I no longer have clients in their industry and feel that they would be better served by a practitioner with more clients in that area.

Actually, I seem to have spent a lot of time getting rid of clients, or dissuading them from using my services!

Turning away work can be a hard thing to do at first but it is well worth it for an easier life in the long run..
  • red_devil
    red_devil Registered Posts: 52 Regular contributor ⭐
    Hey Deano! I just wondered if you realised that you are a God-like figure to us merer mortals on this forum. Your words of wisdom are invaluable to us all.
  • T.C.
    T.C. Registered, Tutor Posts: 1,448 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️