The difference between "accounts assistant" and "assistant accountant"

ambitious
ambitious Banned User Posts: 93 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi everyone

I'm studying at the AAT intermediate level at the moment. I've worked essentially as an accounts assistant for the past 4 years. But I noticed when the words of my job title of "accounts assistant" are swapped around for "assistant accountant" the level of work seems a lot lot higher and you earn a lot more money! Just search the reed or hays websites and see what I mean. But how does someone make that jump ? There seems to be a gap inbetween the jobs and I don't undertand how it gets bridged. I've never got a chance to go for assistant financial/business/capital/management/production accountant becasue the level of work is a lot lot higher. One time I was refused in an interview becasue I lacked management accounts experience. Yet how am I supposed to get that doing low level ledger jobs ?! Do you strictly have to be AAT qualified rather than be a finalist AAT ? Whats the criteria ?

Comments

• Beth
    Beth Registered Posts: 40 Regular contributor ⭐
    An Assistant Accountant is a part or fully qualified position. I think they usually do important 'qualified' things like deal with the tax etc and possibly management duties.

Sorry I can't be anymore help!
  • phunkyphantom22
    phunkyphantom22 Registered Posts: 166 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Beth wrote: »
    An Assistant Accountant is a part or fully qualified position.QUOTE]

Not necessarily - my first position was as an Assistant Accountant and I had no accounting knowledge or experience at all.

I'd say it really depends on the company and how they decide to structure their staff, but generally an assistant accountant would normally work on more complex tasks than an accounts assistant.
  • NeilH
    NeilH Registered Posts: 553 Epic contributor 🐘
    Never judge a book by it's cover

Hi