Real life tax question

Options
numberjunky
numberjunky Registered Posts: 88 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi everyone,

I am currently self employed and have been for 20 years. I am just about to undertake a small P/T PAYE job in addition to my professional career. Can someone briefly explain the ins/outs of this real scenario?

I am completely out of touch with PAYE so any comments/advice would be appreciated.

I am a Level 3 student and just about to complete in June but have no idea about tax.

TIA

Comments

• Siany
    Siany Registered Posts: 6 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    HMRC Courses

Hi there

The Inland Revenue do excellent courses with regards to PAYE and best of all they are free! Visit their website and look for workshop events.

What do you do in your self employment?
  • numberjunky
    numberjunky Registered Posts: 88 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Professional entertainer - Keyboards, vocals and comedy

Have got as far as Level 3 but I'm really fed up with the attitude of some of my potential employers. It is the same old cycle - no job without experience and no experience without a job. As a 'professional' person of 20 years and aged 44, I guess most are a little wary of me. Too old for a junior position and not enough experience for anything else.

Gonna do a Diploma in Reflexology now and stay self employed.
  • cherub76
    cherub76 Registered Posts: 22 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    I have only just started on my AAT journey, and some of the things I have read on here are very worrying!

I have plenty of work experience, but no qualifications at all. I started work in my current company 5.5 years ago, working on a Tuesday morning just doing the wages.........I now work full time as accounts office manager and PA to the MD. Now im trying to gain the qualification I don't have time to think let alone study!