PCR - operating statements and closing stock?

Barbara Knight
Barbara Knight Registered Posts: 20 New contributor 🐸
Hi
I am studying PCR using Osborne Books and have got confused re flexed budget/actuals operating statements as follows......

In exercise 10.5 in the tutorial - when you do the performance statements - task 2 some of the production was sold and some was held in stock. In the operating statement, according to the answer you have to put the total production costs of the variable costs, work out the value of closing stock and deduct this to get the cost of sales.
i.e opening stock plus purchases less closing stock = cost of sales

However in the case study of Liddean Ltd on page 330 onwards, in part 2 they ask you to prepare the statement of operating results and in this case, as above, not all of the production is sold so there is closing stock - and yet they totally ignore the closing stock and show variable costs only for the items that have been produced and sold. i.e cost of sales = only the variable costs of the goods made AND sold

I don't understand why these two statements are done differently and how would I know in the exam which version they are asking for - can you tell me why they are different?

I am guessing that there is something in the wording that I am missing but I don't know what! I have been looking at this all day today and I am getting more and more confused! Any ideas greatfully received!

Thanks
Barbara

Comments

• SandyHood
    SandyHood Registered, Moderator Posts: 2,034 mod
    Barbara

What an astute question. Well done. To the best of my knowledge you are the first to ask.

I haven't got the book in front of me but I think I fully understand your problem.

There are 2 (both correct) methods of producing a flexible budgeting statement.
    I prefer the one where you compare production costs on the basis of units produced then taking off the closing stock value to find the cost of sales.