Students members rights?

axl2derv
axl2derv Registered Posts: 172 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
Hi all,

I was wondering if anybody will be able to answer my question. I am a student member and I am wanting to start my own practice from home with the intent to expand in the future. I am not far off completing the AAT and applying for membership. I was wanting to know if I am allowed to open a practice and what services I am allowed to offer. I feel confident in bookkeeping and drafting financial statements for the tax return. These where the two services I was wanting to offer to start with. I also wanted to know if i was able to use any letters after my name such as AAT since i am not a MAAT yet.

Please advice

Many thanks

Carl

Comments

• claudialowe
    claudialowe Registered Posts: 275 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Hi Carl

Yes you can practice - indeed anyone with or without experience can! However the AAT insist that you only carry out work that you are competent to do, and that you have PI insurance. You are not, however, allowed to use any letters after your name until you have been accepted as a member of the AAT and registered as a MIP.

Hope this helps.

Claudia
  • axl2derv
    Hi Claudia,

Many thanks for your reply. Could you please explain the PI and professional cover from another accountant?

Regards

Carl
  • CHUNKYMONKEY
    CHUNKYMONKEY Registered Posts: 29 Regular contributor ⭐
    you need professional insurance (indemnity insurance) you can get this from Trafalgar at a cheap rate. There is a link on the AAT info screen, think its under MIP info. It will also be in the pack they send you when you apply to be an MIP. The professional cover, well you have to ask accountants will they be your cover in case you were sick long term and cant see to your clients. I asked around on the MIP list and got someone to help quite easily. I just needed their name, address, AAT number etc and to know they had up to date CPD.