How to get a job and experience ???

George Tse
George Tse Registered Posts: 241 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
Hello

I am currently doing the AAT Technician year.

I have no Experience in accounts at all and i am not working in accounts.

I am wondering how i could find a job in accounts as every job I find online need work experience.

I have also sent letters to local accounts firms asking for training in accounts, some have got back saying they have not got an available position n some others have not got back at all !!!

I would like to know how you guys got your first job in accounts ??

The Help would be great

Kind Regards

George Tse

Comments

• aatfree
    aatfree Registered Posts: 86 Regular contributor โญ
    I fell into my first job in a Finance Department - I was on the dole with that new deal rubbish and then they offered me this job which I had no idea what it was. Didn't want it because I was quite happy on the dole thank you very much. My mother told me to take it and I thought I would lose my benefit if I refused. So here I am ten years later still working in finance.

Unfortunately the majority of jobs want experience. Have you been applying for jobs or just asking employers if they have jobs? Have you tried the public sector employers? Universities, hospitals, council, schools, tax office etc? They have all their vacancies on their websites.

Do you have any office experience at all? You may have to look at a job that has an financial element but that isn't the only thing you do e.g. I worked as a senior clerk in a university department for about a year. I would check the expenses of the academics & print out reports once every three months, also I would create a purchase order once a year. It wasn't much financial experience but I could legitimately state that I had a years experience doing those tasks & of the finance system - SAP even though this was only a small part of the overall job.
  • George Tse
    Hello