Train as an accountant at 44, don't make me laugh!

Options
Stan Bown
Stan Bown Registered Posts: 39 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi

I'm starting this thread out of sheer frustration with trying to get my first 'proper' accounting job at the age of 44. I've seen letters in the mag, so I know I'm not alone in trying to make a career change later in life. Would very much welcome comments and experiences from others.

I qualified Technician this year and have started ACCA - funding myself. I've got extensive experience in marketing communications with some general management and project management. I was getting more responsibility and less satisfaction in that career and got addicted to double-entry (!) during my AAT intermediate; so I decided to make the break last April, 2008.

Whilst it is true that I have worked in a finance support role since then, a reasonably complex one, and I have another four-week contract lined up, again in a finance support role, for love nor money I cannot seem to get a job where I am required to post debits and credits.

I am registered with five agencies - all finance and accounting agencies - but have not yet been offered a ledger job. The jobs I am usually presented with are kind of problem solving roles but really don't require any knowledge of accountancy.

I appreciated the temp market is just that, a market where you are in competition with many others for well defined job specs but I am finding it hard to accept that with AAT Technician and loads of experience of working with customers, internal and external, I cannot get a basic ledger clerk job.

I don't even think age is the main factor, I think it is more that as an unknown quantity, that doesn't fit neatly into a mould, you pose a potential risk to employers.