Studying

Ponder
Ponder Registered Posts: 97 Regular contributor ⭐
Hello all,
Im a mature student if you'd like to call it that, needless to say ive not studied(at this kind of depth!) for a long time and when faced with the propect of studying makes me wonder about study skills. Ive done some google-ing into the subject but would like to ask you all...

What is your study methods?
What types of studying and methods do you find successful to learn and to understand and lastly to memorize!
How do you successfully go about learning and all the parts that make up that in terms of specifically accountancy?

Im myself doing a self study course but any class tips/suggestions/methods would be great to hear about as well! (if you yourself have found it helpful and successful for you in your course!

Any answers greatly appreciated!!

Comments

• blacksheep
    blacksheep Registered Posts: 56 Regular contributor ⭐
    i find the best way to pick up things is to work them through - even if it means guess-working at how something goes, then checking the answer, and figuring out why what i've done is different.
    I don't memorise things as such, by just by doing them over and over they kind of get drilled into me. Spending time trying to work it out myself helps too, then i learn the bits i got wrong.
    For some forumlas, remembering phrases work, like DeadClic helps and stays in my head longer.

My dad drummed into me very early that if you had to study too hard before the exams, it was likely that you hadn't learned it properly in the first place, so in general i don't actually really revise as such, just keep doing more of the same in the run up to the day.
    Pace yourself and enjoy it is the best advice i can give.
  • Ponder
    Thanks for your reply.
    I have to agree that practical time working things out does ring very true as a good way to understand and in the long run learn.