Think twice:Is Accounting really for you?

talinka
talinka Registered Posts: 45 Regular contributor ⭐
I don't understand it. It either students are exaggerating in a stress situation or they are simply not prepared well enough. Any exam is a test of a syllabus learnt!! It is not an adequate way of learning if same subjects would come up in the exams every year. Sometimes students retake the ECR exam 3 times, which I find ridiculous. And it's the time to take a step back and to think if AAT is really a qualification to pursue.
AS for me I am a distance learning student. I started to study ECR in november (just one month before the exam) and I have a full time job. I finished todays exam in 1,5 hours. I do agree the paper was not straight forward, all what was needed however -attention to detail and common sense. English is not my native language but I haven't had any issues with the way tasks were set. That's my opinion anyway. Any comments are welcomed.

Comments

• talinka
    And I do not work in accounts. And never had.
  • angie1
    angie1 Registered Posts: 29 Regular contributor ⭐
    i have not worked in accounts either, i also have a full time job two kids and a house to run on my own, but you can only go by what the tutors have taught you and what they have told you to revise, i can assure you no one worked harder than me for this exam, i can only asume your distance learning was better than our fast track day relese.!.
  • talinka
    No, I got no tutor to support me, and being the only one responsible for my studies I am reading every page of the study text; Maybe it's just my nature. I want to know it ALL no matter whether it will come up in the exams or not. AAT texs are well enough explained in comparisson to ACCA texts. I prefer BBP and Osbourne books, Kaplan publishes texts full of spelling mistakes and overcomplicated.
    The thing is to be able to think for yourself while taking the tutor's advice into accounts.