Advice

Options
Liliana
Liliana Registered Posts: 39 Regular contributor ⭐
I currently work for a practice of accountants as an AAT trainee and I have been working in this company for around about 9 months.
I thought that being in an accountancy firm I would have the training that an industry firm does not provide. It seems that I am wrong or my company is different. I would like to ask anyone that works in an accountancy firm, what kind of training do they have? Is it all rounds training? i.e. are you trained to do all the round accounts? Tax? Audit? Sole trader accounts? And is this training planned ahead by your mentor if you have one? Or do you spend time waiting for the work to come to you?
I don’t know how it’s meant to work, but I would like to know, or have an idea of how it’s meant to work so I can possibly speak with my boss about this.
At the moment I struggle with the unorganised time management that I have been provided... my “mentor” or line manager (not sure if I have one or if I am meant to have one!) recently all he has given me is sole trader accounts, until I asked him if I could also do tax work, so I could be trained, so today he has given me several certificates for dividends for me to input onto to the pc... well, I had to wait for him to give me the explanation on what I had in my hands, for which I had to wait 1h30mn for him to come back to me... I was in despair... basically in the afternoon when I finished he gave me 6 sheets with clients names and year ends for me to input them and update them on the system (these were since 2006 clients that need updating on the system).
So I am wondering if my training is a mixture of admin and accounts, because I felt like he had enough of me asking for things to do and so gives me a tedious and boring thing to do that will keep quiet for a long time...