Considering going self-employed, and need advice.

Options
marknotgeorge
marknotgeorge Registered Posts: 158 Dedicated contributor 🦉
I'm currently studying Intermediate AAT and IAB Level 3 Payroll, having done Foundation and Level 2 Payroll last year. I'm enjoying both immensely, and I want to put my knowledge into practise. Trouble is, I'm 36 with no prior financial experience, and I'm having trouble with the no-experience-no-job vicious cycle. In any case, finding a job that I can use both my AAT and Payroll knowledge is difficult enough.

So I'm considering the self-employed route. This would be better for child care, and I can use my knowledge the way I want to. Trouble is, it's hard to know where to start, so I plan to start trading in April, ready for the new financial year. This should give me plenty of time to get up to speed.

Here's the results of my research so far:
  • As I'm not an MIP, I need to register with HMRC for money laundering, self-employed status and as an agent. Anything else?
  • I'm planning at the start to offer bookkeeping, final accounts for sole traders and payroll, and add further services as I continue my development. Sensible?
  • I plan to turn this into a family business, and enlist my step-daughter, who's studying with me and working part-time in payroll as a partner.
  • Software. I have Excel and MS Office Accounting Express, and I should be able to get MSOA Pro to start. For payroll, I could use the HMRC Disc, or Moneysoft(?). Would it be worth joining the Sage Bookkeeping Club straight off, or wait until the ball's rolling.

I feel that I really need some good advice.

Thanks.
Mark.

Comments

• deanshepherd
    deanshepherd Registered Posts: 1,809 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Hi Mark