Income Tax payment accounting entries

Options
Model500
Model500 Registered Posts: 43 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi,
I am currently compiling the 2nd year accounts for my partner's business (sole trader) and during the 2nd year of trading, she paid out income tax, this being tax due on 1st year accounts and 50% of 2nd year accounts. I have entered Income Tax Liability for the second half of 2nd year accounts.

However, where do I account for the actual income tax paid during the year?
Sorry if I'm being a bit thick but I've never done this before.

By the way, an urgent response would be very much appreciated as my partner is expecting our first baby within the next 2 weeks and goodness knows where I'll find the time to finish everything off!!

Thanks in advance and a happy new year to you all

Comments

• Bluewednesday
    Bluewednesday Registered Posts: 1,624 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    If she is a sole trader then the income tax is not a business expense and not entered into the accounts at all.

Tax is only really entered into the accounts of a limited company.
  • Model500
    Options
    Hi Blue,

Thanks for your speedy response. Your answer has left me a little confused though.

I have entered the Income Tax Liability figure onto her Balance sheet under 'Current Liabilities'. Is this incorrect?

Also, your response makes me think my partner should have taken extra drawings (she has been quite cautious, paying herself a very modest income and saving the rest in her business account for tax etc) from the business and paid the income tax from her personal bank account. Is this correct?

Help!!
  • Bluewednesday
    Options
    A sole trader is taxed on profit that they make - regardless of what they take as drawings. I think you are really confused between companies and sole traders. You shouldn't set up a current liability for the income tax paid as it is as you have stated a personal expense and not a business expense.