Credit Control

carol
carol Registered Posts: 13 New contributor 🐸
Hello, New to site. Can ayone help with "Essential Credit Control Phone Tecniques". How to word a plea for money and get around all the excuses. I have a lot of knowledge doing s/l and p/l and bacs payments so can cope with the excuses and understand them. Just want to learn some more persuasive language. Seen course from Inst Credit Man Β£400 +. Have to pay for it myself, cannot find any good books. Help!!:001_smile:

Comments

• PAMDILL
    PAMDILL Registered Posts: 721 Epic contributor 🐘
    Being on the side who are usually getting the calls, just be polite, don't get ratty or cheeky unless you have been getting run around for weeks.

Most of us do want to pay and are just experiencing cashflow problems. The companies whose credit controllers are rude tend to get put below the ones whose credit controllers are polite if the debt is the same age.

(only personal opinion)
  • Cullen
    Cullen Registered Posts: 592 Epic contributor 🐘
    I agree with Pamdill about being polite.

Try reading some NLP stuff regarding using powerful language. An example of this is the difference in saying:

"Please settle your account" or

"Your account must be settled now, please. I can collect the cheque today. I shall be there in half an hour"

This type of language puts the customer in a bit of a corner where they either admit they cannot pay or accept that you will not be fobbed off any longer. I am sure there are much better examples of use of language.

When I worked for a company a few years ago I inherited a worrying aged debtors list.

I rang them all asked for all overdue balances to be settled by end of week. A few were, the others I rang on Monday, all the "cheque's in the post" stuff I asked them to cancel the cheque and reissue. As soon as I got their agreement I asked them not to post it and I would collect within the hour.