Mortgage Reference-AAT Qualification

Options
MelanieM
MelanieM Registered Posts: 12 New contributor 🐸
Dear All,

I am really quite annoyed. I have done a Mortgage Reference for one of my clients for whom i prepare accounts for. I have had correspondence from the Mortgage provider saying that they do not accept my qualification for providing references.

This really annoys me, after years of training and 15 years experience it makes me wonder why I did it all!

Why do people/companies not recognise the AAT qualification as technically competent and of a high standard.

I now look incapable to my client, as they say that I need to get the accounts signed off by a "differently qualified" colleague (of whom i have none as i am a Sole Trader).

Rant over, sorry,

Mel

Comments

• pinksponk
    pinksponk Registered Posts: 57 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    You would have thought that if your accounts are good enough for the Inland Revenue, it should be good enough for the mortgage provider.
    No wonder you are miffed
  • deanshepherd
    deanshepherd Registered Posts: 1,809 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Which mortgage lender was it?

I have never had a problem signing mortgage references so I would be interested to know which bank has us black listed!!

I wonder if this is a new policy due to banks 'tightening up' their lending criteria..
  • Hasan.Ahmet
    Hasan.Ahmet Registered Posts: 87 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Mortgage reference-AAT qualification

Are we wondering whether there are institutions out there who due to their "tightening up of their lending criteria" may now be saying we'll no longer accept AAT qualifications when considering accounts for the purpose of lending.
    I don't think so but very important to know precisely the nature of this and the lender.
  • Poodle
    Poodle Registered Posts: 711 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    Hi