Tax return

Hi,

Can somebody please explain how periods work?

If a business has a year end of October 31st, why does the tax return ask for the period ending April 5th and how do you treat this?

Comments

• groundy
    groundy Registered Posts: 495 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    A year end of 31 October 2008 would be entered on the 5 April 2009 tax return. This is quite basic knowledge and I would advise you seek assistance with the tax work if you are unsure.
  • slackda
    slackda Registered Posts: 460 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    CT Tax return or Personal?
  • A-Vic
    A-Vic Registered Posts: 6,970 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    If CT is it their first year?
  • groundy wrote: »
    A year end of 31 October 2008 would be entered on the 5 April 2009 tax return.

This makes perfect sense. I'm not doing a tax return, I am just reading up on tax as I have no prior knowledge and would like to learn it. It would be for a sole trader in this example.
  • Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Get a copy of a business tax text book and read up on Basis Periods.
    Or google it.
    Takes a bit of getting your head round at first!
  • faerie9 wrote: »
    Get a copy of a business tax text book and read up on Basis Periods.
    Or google it.
    Takes a bit of getting your head round at first!

I've just bought the book ‘Tax for Dummies’ which is pretty ok from a general public perspective. Is there any specific books I can get that are good at laying out P11D's, computations etc and look at tax from an accountant’s perspective?
  • Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Have you considered doing the AAT tax units?
  • A-Vic
    Hi Don

What it is Personal Tax will always be from 5th April to 5th April each year even if the year end is october (this would be for their personal Accounts which will read 31st October ****)
  • monkeypuzzle47