Experience please....

Brent.U
Brent.U Registered Posts: 11 New contributor 🐸
Ok. I'm new here, but i'd like to pick all of your brains.....

I completed aat Foundation last December. Will complete Intermediate this December. Hope to go onto Technician next January.

My problem is that I have no proper accounting experience. I was made redundant last year and decided to study part time and look after my kids.

Eventually, may be not till next year, I will want a job but with no experience the qualification will be of little value.

I have looked into voluntary work but even they're not keen to let you loose on the financial side of things when you have no experience. I've written to local accountants; they're not interested.

So where or how do i get the valuable experience???

Any comments would be appreciated.

Comments

• lork
    lork Registered Posts: 97 Regular contributor ⭐
    I once employed someone who just had the AAT qualification but no accounts experience whatsoever, based on the fact that I liked them and knew they had the potential to learn. If you are prepared to start in a more junior role and can demonstrate to a potential employer your enthusiasm and willingness to learn, then someone will hire you. It may take a little while, especially in a recession, but you will get there. The key, I think, is applying for the right type of role in order to get an interview. Once you have the interview, you have the opportunity to sell yourself and convince them that you're the person they want/need.

I did everything backwards - started in a junior role at the age of 19, with no career ambitions whatsoever, and learned on the job. It was only after working in various accounts roles for about 9 or 10 years that I decided that this was the career for me, and not just a job, so I started AAT. One exam to go and I'm done!
  • Brent.U
    Thanks for the suggestion, which roles would you suggest to look out for?? Ledger clerk?? Accounts Assistant??
  • lork