Value of website?

JodieR
JodieR Registered Posts: 1,002 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
A client of mine has spent the last 2 years or so developing a website containing reference material. He's hoping to launch the site soon and the material will be avaliable to be purchased by the general public.
Most of the costs incurred in creating the site have been shown in the P&L account by his previous accountant, which i was a little surprised at but after reading UITF abstract 29 I see that this can probably be justified. The problem now is they're having a meeting with their solicitor soon and he's wanting the value of the completed website shown in the balance sheet at the value which it's now worth.
Does anyone have any advice on (a) what basis it should be valued on, and (b) how do I show this in the accounts?
I have warned the client that I'm not an expert on intangible assets and if need be I'll just prepare their books to TB for someone else to complete, so what I'm hoping for is some clear simple advice on the situation, otherwise please let me know if it's a really complicated area in which case I'll do what I can do and then pass it on!

Comments

• Steve Collings
    Steve Collings Registered Posts: 997 Epic contributor 🐘
    Hi,

You can only put an asset on the balance sheet if that asset is to contribute to profit generation of the entity. Task force abstract 29 at para 6 does state that:

.....criteria should be established that ensured that the costs would be capitalised only to the extent that they created an enduring asset and there were reasonable grounds for supposing that future economic benefits in excess of the amounts capitalised would be generated by the website.

UITF 29 does cite an ordering facility. So for example, if your clients customer base can order goods/services via the website then the costs that are 'directly attributable' to the website can be capitalised.