working as a sole trader

Options
sharonj
sharonj Registered Posts: 166 Dedicated contributor 🦉
Hi,

I wonder if anyone who is qualified would be able to give me some advice. I'm studying for the AAT but have only just completed the Certificate level. My husband was recently made redundant, a nightmare situation that I know a lot of other people are having to deal with at the moment. Luckily he is good at fixing things/painting and general Handyman jobs so we have decided to set him up as a self employed Handyman until the job market improves.

I need to start doing his accounts now as we really can't afford accountancy bills at the moment. I wonder if anyone can tell me the type of accounts we would need to be keeping, what things we can claim tax relief on and generally how we would go about keeping the correct records.

Thanks

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    Options
    As a good start:-

Register with HMRC as self employed
    Open a seperate business bank account
    Keep all receipts invoices etc
    keep a cash book (i.e. a record of all business income and expenditure)

Even though an accountant is a cost providing good base records should keep the cost fairly low. If you are unsure it may be me worth paying for someone to do it in the long run as mistakes will be much more expensive to correct later.
    Regards,

Burg
  • Emthi
    Emthi Registered Posts: 53 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Benefits and AIA

First of all, to come out of your problem, apply for the tax credit if you haven't done so and other benefits such as housing benefit and council tax benefit.

Then, if you buy a van (for example) for your business you would be able to enjoy 100% AIA for 2009/10, which will reduce your tax bill significantly.
  • sharonj
    Options
    Hi Emthi/Burg