Newbie!! - Info

Options
kellyriddell
kellyriddell Registered Posts: 84 Regular contributor ⭐
Hello all, my name is Kelly ans as you can gather from the title I am completely new to this!! I am internally transfering within my company to a trainee accountant and will be starting my AAT qualifications shortly. Does anyone have any advice on what I need to get before I attend classes (do I need a scientific calculator etc) - and also how long to people study throughout the week? Just so I can gear myself for what is coming up, I am really looking forward to starting and want to make sure I am well prepared!

Thanks for looking

Kelly
Β«1

Comments

• Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Options
    Hi Kelly welcome to the forums

You only need a very basic calculator, one that can + - / and* and maybe %
    I'd get some folders or files to keep your notes in for each unit
    Other than that just your usual note pad, pens, pencils, ruler etc.

How often do you go to college to study? I only went once every 3-4 weeks so I was doing more hours at home than most other people, but if you're going once a week you'll probably find you need to do around 2 hours of studying at home per week.

If accountancy is completely new to you then it can be a bit intimidating when you first start, but if you have any problems speak to your tutor or come to the forums, most of us are friendly! Are you starting at foundation level?

Good luck with your studies :thumbup1:
  • kellyriddell
    Options
    Well I shall be taking a book keeping course and then straight into intermediate, and shall be studying a full day Saturday every week.

So what level are you at? Are you still studying?
  • Gem7321
    Options
    I finished AAT a little while ago now, when I've finished maternity leave I'll start studying either ACCA or ACA.