AAT qualification not making things any better

Options
Does anybody else find that the AAT qualification has been down graded since the recession? It doesn't seem to be worth much at the moment unless you are applying for ledger positions. I am also a CIMA student (just started) and even that doesn't seem to help when applying for part qualified roles. I am not slaying the qualification as I am proud that I finally have it but I do feel that if you are not CCAB qualified or a ledger clerk then you are pretty much screwed in this recession.

Can anybody relate?

P.S. It might be the fact that I live in Hull and the recession seems to have hit here the worst.

Thanks

Don

Comments

• farmergiles
    farmergiles Registered Posts: 1,693 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Don Juan wrote: »
    Does anybody else find that the AAT qualification has been down graded since the recession? It doesn't seem to be worth much at the moment unless you are applying for ledger positions. I am also a CIMA student (just started) and even that doesn't seem to help when applying for part qualified roles. I am not slaying the qualification as I am proud that I finally have it but I do feel that if you are not CCAB qualified or a ledger clerk then you are pretty much screwed in this recession.

Can anybody relate?

P.S. It might be the fact that I live in Hull and the recession seems to have hit here the worst.

Thanks

Don

Have you also noticed that the salaries on offer have been chopped? I went after a part time job in practice (Doncaster) and they wanted loads of experience and were only offering junior level pay.
  • columbia
    columbia Registered Posts: 580 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    I agree with FG.

I have been applying for part time positions. They want you to do the work of an accountant for not more than minimum wage. It really is a horrible situation to be in.
  • Bookworm55
    Bookworm55 Registered Posts: 479 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options