Jobs - Best way to go?

trians
trians Registered Posts: 10 New contributor 🐸
Hello. I have just finished Intermediate and am looking to finally move into a job that is related to what I am studying (this has not been practical until this point).

I am wondering what would be the ideal starting job, would it be something like a finance assistant or a purchase/sales ledger clerk?

Any advice to steer my in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.:001_unsure:

Comments

• blobbyh
    blobbyh Registered Posts: 2,415 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    There are some who sneer at ledger clerks thinking the roles are beneath them but they're an excellent introduction into an accounts office. Done properly they're invisible, a part of a fully functioning accounts machine, done badly they can compromise cashflow and distort both management and financial accounts.

If you have no experience in accounts, these are arguably the starting positions you should be aiming for as no-one takes on a financial controller without back up experience. With larger organisations, it's even possible to stay within a purchase or sales ledger function maybe progressing to corporate ledger controllers or higher.

As for getting these roles, sign up to a few agencies that lean towards the accounts world and send off ad hoc CV's to small companies in your area. Ensure your CV is written in a contemporary fashion as there are often differences between how many think they should be presented compared to what an employer is looking for once received. Above all, possess a positive, pro-active, I-can-do-this attitude and don't get knocked back at the first rejection. It's tough out there in finance at the moment and you have to be tough or you risk becoming a victim. There have been a few sob story threads on here lately so let's hopefully see another positive one to go with the two Tracy's.

Best wishes!
  • A-Vic