confused!! ACCA or ACA? have I wasted 3 years on AAT!

Portsmouth_AAT
Portsmouth_AAT Registered Posts: 96 Regular contributor ⭐
I know this has been discussed previously on here but this is my first post and I have the following situation that I need help with....

I work as an assistant management accountant, I have done so for 2 years, I had just completed my first year on AAT when I started in this role, but have worked for the company for 5 odd years.

I always showed my intention to study after the AAT, now I am on the final year with one exam to sit in December 09 I am looking at my options, I want an open qualification so CIMA is not an option. My employer has sugested ACCA, I however prefer ACA.

On comparing the 2 (my uderstanding only)
ACCA i am only exempt from the first year F1-F3 and could have started at level one 3 years ago!! so I feel hard done by and that I have wasted 3 years of my life and would have to study for at least another 4 years!!

ACA I am exempt from the first 3 years (depending on exams taken) and would need to study for a further 2 years but MUST have the employers support.

My employers are a little in the "its not been done before" frame of mind, they have always used ACCA. I am aware that for ACA I would need to put in a lot of personal time but I am willing to do this but I need to convince my employer that this is a NEW route and would be of benefit to them.

any advice help?

Comments

• NeilH
    NeilH Registered Posts: 553 Epic contributor 🐘
    Hi

It's probably best not to think in terms of firm "years" for ACCA/ACA/CIMA as its more a case of doing a number of exams per sitting rather than academic years. Generally ACCA and ACA (with no exemptions for either) would take around 3 to 3 1/2 years to study from scratch. ICAEW will give upto 5 years to study and ACCA give 10, but most trainees working full time usually take around the 3 to 3 1/2 year mark for study depending on exemptions - if any.