Wish I hadn't looked at the past exam papers

sharonj
sharonj Registered Posts: 166 Dedicated contributor 🦉
I've only just started unit 5 of the Advanced Certificate and am working my way through the tutorial book. I just thought I would take a look at the exam paper for FRA to see what it looks like. I've only just finished chapter 7 dealing with depreciation of fixed assets and I did struggle with it a little bit. The whole disposals acc, depreciation acc and provision for depreciation acc etc etc confused me for a while but I think I've sort of cracked it. Anyway, looking at the previous exam papers has scared me completely. I'm due to take the exam at the end of this year so obviously I've technically got plenty of time yet but does anyone ever feel like "I'll never be able to do this" ??

I don't work in accounts at the moment, I work in banking and I think I would feel more confident if I already worked in a relevant accounting field. Maybe it's just self doubt, but I hope that one day I wake up and think, actually, I know exactly what everything means and can just do it without thinking about it.....I hope this day comes.......soon.

Comments

• mikes
    mikes Registered Posts: 254 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    when i did it last year, i was taking a long time to remember where everything went. I did have some basic understanding of the difference between accruals and prepayments, but not where they went in the accounts.

I went through each adjustment in turn, until i knew where they went and doing practice P&L accounts and Balance sheets. By the time i got to the final one, i was becoming more used to them.

For my revision i wrote up a mock example of the P&L and BS, indidicating where everything went onto a blank postcard and looked at that whenever i had the chance, so that it all sunk in.

I know it does sound daunting now, but dont worry, by the time the exam comes around, you will be used to it as well.

Best of luck.
  • sharonj