MIP whilst studying?

Thomasl1
Thomasl1 Registered Posts: 43 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi Everyone,
I recently became MAAT and am currently in the process of applying to be a MIP. I have over 7 years financial experience, and plan to cover a few different areas. My main query is that I plan to begin studying for the ACCA qualification in a few weeks. Does this mean I am not able to start my own sole trader company or am I limited as to what services I can provide?
Any help on this would be appreciated.
Many Thanks in advance
Steven

Comments

• Anne Boleyn
    Anne Boleyn Registered Posts: 196 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    MIP whilst studying

Hi Thomas

Unfortunately the ACCA are very strict in what they allow a student of theirs to do whilst studying, you'll probably be restricted to bookkeeping. Also, I believe, once you have passed all the exams you still need 3 years post qualifying experience. If I've got this wrong, I'm sure others will correct me.
  • Bloater
    Bloater Registered Posts: 19 New contributor 🐸
    Spot On

Anne is spot on - ACCA regulations are a joke. They only allow you to practice whilst studying if you are already a MIP under ICAEW, CIMA etc.

They don't recognise AAT! and that's why I have given up ACCA membership!

My advice is that if you want to run a small practice, become an AAT MIP, then study the tax exams, as these will be far more practical for most clients needs.

As long as you can accurately prepare accounts, which AAT and relevant experience will enable you to do, the main questions raised by clients are tax related.

Hope this helps.
  • lorraine
    lorraine Registered Posts: 404 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Hi Bloater, by studying the Tax Units, does that mean taking the exams officially or will reading and understanding the Tax Units be enough to be able to carry this out for clients.

Also I will be getting any work I do re: tax and final acs checked by a fully competent accountant as I am new to this area of work.
  • Bloater